[Avodah] Why does the OU certify kosher beef gelatin as pareve?
Prof. L. Levine
llevine at stevens.edu
Mon Apr 26 07:48:39 PDT 2021
>From today's OU Kosher Halacha Yomis
Q. Why does the OU certify kosher beef gelatin as pareve?
A. The OU follows the rulings of Rav Moshe Feinstein zt”l (Igros Moshe Y.D. 2:27) and Rav Aharon Kotler zt”l (Shu”t Mishnas Reb Aharon 1:17) that gelatin, made from the hides of properly slaughtered and kashered (salted) cows, is not only kosher but is also pareve. Since unprocessed cowhide is inedible, it is not classified as meat. However, Pri Megadim (Y.D. 87:22) writes that while on a Biblical level cowhides are pareve, there is nonetheless a rabbinic injunction against eating cowhide cooked with milk. Even so, since gelatin is extracted from the hides by means of strong chemicals, Igeros Moshe proves that this is a sufficient change to make it completely lose its meat status. Thus, gelatin is pareve and may be cooked with milk.
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
More information about the Avodah