[Avodah] Do foods that are certified vegan require hashgacha?

Prof. L. Levine llevine at stevens.edu
Mon Oct 12 11:55:30 PDT 2020

>From today's OU Kosher Halacha Yomis

Q. Do foods that are certified vegan require hashgacha? Since these foods cannot contain meat, fowl or fish, can it be assumed they are kosher?

A. No, such an assumption is unfounded. First, although the manufacturer or restaurant claims to be vegan, it is halachically questionable whether one may accept as fact claims made by companies for their own benefit. Igeros Moshe (Even Ha’ezer 5:42 and see also YD 1:55) writes that one can only rely on ingredient statements if the company would face government fines if the information were found to be untrue.

Second, vegan foods can be non-kosher even if they do not contain meat, fowl, or fish. A vegan food may have a status of Bishul Akum (foods cooked by a nochri that can be served to a distinguished guest and could not have been eaten raw) which is not kosher. Vegan foods may also contain non-kosher wine or wine vinegar, as well as fruits and vegetables that are prone to infestation. Although many vegans will not eat insects, their standard for cleaning may not meet halachic requirements. Finally, if the product was cooked with non-kosher utensils, it would not be acceptable even if all the ingredients were kosher.

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.aishdas.org/pipermail/avodah-aishdas.org/attachments/20201012/fe289cf4/attachment.html>

More information about the Avodah mailing list